top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily Corwin

Sarah Lilius

I Feel Stupid and Contagious

My mind on a loop,

stick my head in the leeching

past of the four ring circus

of Rock Island High School.

Distracted boys with knives,

girls stroke boys’ short black beards

with longing, hymens line up

like nooses.

Cafeteria daze, I should have

pills across my heart, rolling

in my blood like pigs, cut in half,

there’s never enough bacon for boys

with condoms in loose

pockets. French fry pimples

keep boys from getting

laid in father’s minivans,

blue Hondas full of crumbs,

fast food wrappers.

Musical trauma, we rock solid

in the air, my gold Chevy,

rolling tease wagon,

I line up boys in flannel,

girl firing squad, self control

reeks of attitude and mint gum,

my Friday night fire

kills when I drop

them off at spring curbs,

grass newly green as us.

*Title taken from Nirvana’s Smells Like Teen Spirit



Sarah Lilius is the author of four chapbooks, most recently, Thirsty Bones (Blood Pudding Press, 2017) and GIRL (dancing girl press, 2017). Some places her work can be found are Luna Luna Magazine, Tinderbox, Flapperhouse, and Stirring. She lives in Northern Virginia and her website is sarahlilius.com.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page